1. World Map/
  2. Map of World Hemispheres

Map of World Hemispheres

Hemisphere Map, Map of Western Hemisphere, Northern Hemisphere, Eastern Hemisphere, Southern Hemisphere

print this map


The planet's four hemispheres are each shaded a dark gray.

The Equator, that imaginary horizontal line at 0º degrees latitude at the center of the earth, divides the earth into the Northern and Southern Hemispheres.

The vertical imaginary line called the Prime Meridian, at 0º degrees longitude, and its twin line of longitude, opposite the Prime Meridian at 180º longitude, divides the earth into the Eastern and Western Hemispheres.

Therefore ( with some exceptions 500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

Generally the Eastern Hemisphere includes most of Africa, about half of Antarctica, all of Asia and Australia/Oceania, and most of Europe.

The Western Hemisphere includes about half of Antarctica and all of North and South America which includes the Caribbean and Central America as well as Greenland.

The Northern Hemisphere includes all of North America, the northern reaches of South America, about two-thirds of Africa, all of Asia excluding (parts of Indonesia) and all of Europe.

The Southern Hemisphere includes most of South America, one-third of Africa, all of Antarctica, a small sliver of Asia (parts of Indonesia) and all of Australia/Oceania.

There are exceptions as some continents (and their countries) based on the straight-line divisions of the Equator and Prime Meridian are a part of two hemispheres. For a map and list of countries in both the Eastern and Western Hemispheres, go here, and for countries in both the Northern and Southern Hemispheres, try this page.

Trending on 澳门mg游戏平台

This page was last updated on July 12, 2016.