1. World Map/
  2. North America/
  3. USA /
  4. North Dakota

North Dakota

North Dakota Description

North Dakota is, at times, referred to as a "High Plains" state, with Minnesota to the east, South Dakota to its south, Montana to the west and the Canadian provinces of Saskatchewan and Manitoba to the north.

A stone marker in Rugby identifies itself as being the "Geographic Center of the North American Continent".

North Dakota History

tipi First settled by the Native Americans several thousand years ago, it wasn't until the mid-1700's (1738 - 1740) that French Canadians, led by Sieur de la Verendyre, explored the region. The major tribes in the area at that time included the Mandan, Hidatsa, Arikara, Sioux and Chippewa.

La Verendyre visited the Mandan tribes in 1738 and was amazed at their level of development, especially in agricultural prowess and trading.

The U.S. acquired most of North Dakota from France in 1803 with the Louisiana Purchase. Following the purchase, President Thomas Jefferson commissioned the Corps of Discovery and selected Lewis and Clark to lead the expedition.

In North Dakota, led by Sakakawea, a Lemhi Shoshone woman who acted as their interpreter and guide, they explored the territory. Their party built Fort Mandan where they spent the winter of 1804-05. Sakakawea traveled with them during their continued exploration of the western United States.

In a treaty with Great Britain, signed in 1818, the U.S. obtained the northeast section of North Dakota, including the Pembina settlement. Pembina was first a fur-trading post and then became a permanent settlement in 1812.

The Dakota Territory, which included present day North and South Dakota and parts of Wyoming and Montanawas organized in March 1861. The territory remained sparsely settled until the late 19th century when railroads entered the region.

The railroads spurred the economic growth and development due to the ability of transporting agricultural products, such as wheat, flaxseed and cattle.

North Dakota Cities, Counties & Area Codes

City County Area Code
Hettinger Adams 701
Valley City Barnes 701
Fort Totten Benson 701
Medora Billings 701
Bottineau Bottineau 701
Bowman Bowman 701
Powers Lake Burke 701
Bismarck Burleigh 701
Fargo Cass 701
Langdon Cavalier 701
Oakes Dickey 701
Crosby Divide 701
Killdeer Dunn 701
New Rockford Eddy 701
Linton Emmons 701
Carrington Foster 701
Beach Golden Valley 701
Grand Forks Grand Forks 701
Elgin Grant 701
Cooperstown Griggs 701
New England Hettinger 701
Steele Kidder 701
Lamoure Lamoure 701
Napoleon Logan 701
Velva McHenry 701
Wishek McIntosh 701
Watford City McKenzie 701
Garrison McLean 701
Beulah Mercer 701
Mandan Morton 701
New Town Mountrail 701
Lakota Nelson 701
Center Oliver 701
Cavalier Pembina 701
Rugby Pierce 701
Devils Lake Ramsey 701
Lisbon Ransom 701
Mohall Renville 701
Wahpeton Richland 701
Belcourt Rolette 701
Milnor Sargent 701
McClusky Sheridan 701
Fort Yates Sioux 701
Marmarth Slope 701
Dickinson Stark 701
Finley Steele 701
Jamestown Stutsman 701
Cando Towner 701
Mayville Traill 701
Grafton Walsh 701
Minot Ward 701
Harvey Wells 701
Williston Williams 701

About the Author

500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

Trending on 澳门mg游戏平台

USA States

This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.